Know the past winners of the Laureus World Sports Awards along with it’s importance, format, & 2023 edition winners list

After finally winning the FIFA World Cup and ting home the Golden Ball as the competition’s best player in 2018, Messi made two appearances on stage: once to accept the Laureus World Team of the Year Award on behalf of Argentina’s men’s football team and once to win his second Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award after sharing the honor with Lewis Hamilton in 2020.

Laureus World Sports Awards all time winner full list by year and 2023 winners

Know who were the notable winners at the 2023 Laureus World Sports Awards

At the renowned 2023 Laureus World Sports Awards in Paris on Sunday night, Lionel Messi created athletic history. The legendary football player, who guided Argentina to the 2022 World Cup, made history by being the first sportsperson to win both the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award and the Laureus World Team of the Year Award in the same calendar year.

Carlos Alcaraz received the Laureus World Brethrough of the Year Award for his victory at the 2022 US Open and ascent to the top spot in the world rankings. Christian Eriksen won the Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award in the meantime for ming a successful comeback from a cardiac attack to play for Brentford and subsequently Manchester United in the Premier League. Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce won the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Award for her outstanding performance in 2022, which included winning the 100-meter gold medal at the World Athleti Championships.

Laureus World Sports Awards: all-time winners & records

Awards will be given out annually starting in 2020 in eight categories, with a few discretionary areas receiving sporadic recognition. Each prize winner receives a Cartier-made Laureus statuette at an annual event that tes place somewhere in the world. Tennis player Roger Federer from Switzerland now holds the record for most honors with six, including one for comeback of the year and five for sportsman of the year. Serena Williams currently holds the record for most female winners with five trophies, including one for the best comeback and four for sportswoman of the year.

Year Sportsman Sportswoman Team Brethrough Comeback Disability Action Moment
2000 Tiger Woods Marion Jones Manchester United Sergio García Lance Armstrong Louise Sauvage Shaun Palmer
2001 Tiger Woods Cathy Freeman France national football team Marat Safin Jennifer Capriati Vinny Lauwers Mike Horn
2002 Michael Schumacher Jennifer Capriati Australia national cricket team Juan Pablo Montoya Goran Ivanišević Esther Vergeer Bob Burnquist
2003 Lance Armstrong Serena Williams Brazil national football team Yao Ming Ronaldo Michael Milton Dean Potter
2004 Michael Schumacher Annika Sörenstam England national rugby union team Michelle Wie Hermann Maier Earle Connor Layne Beachley
2005 Roger Federer Kelly Holmes Greece national football team Liu Xiang Alex Zanardi Chantal Petitclerc Ellen MacArthur
2006 Roger Federer Janica Kostelić Renault F1 team Rafael Nadal Martina Hingis Ernst van Dyk Angelo d’Arrigo
2007 Roger Federer Yelena Isinbayeva Italy national football team Amélie Mauresmo Serena Williams Martin Braxenthaler Kelly Slater
2008 Roger Federer Justine Henin South Africa national rugby union team Lewis Hamilton Paula Radcliffe Esther Vergeer Shaun White
2009 Usain Bolt Yelena Isinbayeva China Olympic team Rebecca Adlington Vitali Klitschko Daniel Dias Kelly Slater
2010 Usain Bolt Serena Williams Brawn F1 team Jenson Button Kim Clijsters Natalie du Toit Stephanie Gilmore
2011 Rafael Nadal Lindsey Vonn Spain national football team Martin Kaymer Valentino Rossi Verena Bentele Kelly Slater
2012 Nov Djokovic Vivian Cheruiyot FC Barcelona Rory McIlroy Darren Clarke Oscar Pistorius Kelly Slater
2013 Usain Bolt Jessica Ennis Europe Ryder Cup team Andy Murray Félix Sánchez Daniel Dias Felix Baumgartner
2014 Sebastian Vettel Missy Franklin Bayern Munich Marc Márquez Rafael Nadal Marie Bochet Jamie Bestwick
2015 Nov Djokovic Genzebe Dibaba Germany national football team Daniel Ricciardo Schalk Burger Tatyana McFadden Alan Eustace
2016 Nov Djokovic Serena Williams New Zealand national rugby union team Jordan Spieth Dan Carter Daniel Dias Jan Frodeno
2017 Usain Bolt Simone Biles Chicago Cubs Nico Rosberg Michael Phelps Beatrice Vio Rachel Atherton FC Barcelona under-12s
2018 Roger Federer Serena Williams Mercedes F1 Team Sergio García Roger Federer Marcel Hug Armel Le Cléac’h Chapecoense
2019 Nov Djokovic Simone Biles France national football team Naomi Osa Tiger Woods Henrieta Farkašová Chloe Kim Xia Boyu
2020 Lewis Hamilton &

Lionel Messi

Simone Biles South Africa national rugby union team Egan Bernal Sophia Flörsch Oksana Masters Chloe Kim Sachin Tendulkar
2021 Rafael Nadal Naomi Osa Bayern Munich Patrick Mahomes Maxence Parrot Chris Nikic
2022 Max Verstappen Elaine Thompson-Herah Italy national football team Emma Raducanu Sky Brown Marcel Hug Bethany Shriever
2023 Lionel Messi Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce Argentina national football team Carlos Alcaraz Christian Eriksen Catherine Debrunner Eileen Gu

Also Read: Men’s FIH Pro Hockey League 2022, Schedule, Date, Time, Teams, Format, Fixtures, Points Table, Results, Live Stream


Previous articleIs It Fortune Or Is It Woe chapter 114 release date, time, manga Reddit spoilers, where to read online
Next articleWhich Jiu-Jitsu belt and rank in BJJ is Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Al Amin Sagor is simply a movie freak who is passionate about writing entertainment content. He loves to watch web series, and movies and write on celebrity gossip or trendy movie news. He also covers media and entertainment news on various online platforms. He is one of the "Jewel" of The News Titan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here